Sponsored Video: Hamilton, Button and the Singapore Night Race

Posted on 26 September 2012 by Tony Santos

Singapore Grand Prix: Jenson Button

Have you heard about Singapore as the Monaco of the East –well, it’s official. And as we speak the grandest Singapore Night Race event have just concluded on a dramatic 23rd lap which throws McLaren’s Lewis Hamilton out of the track with a gearbox problems allowing defending F1 champion Sebastian Vettel of Red Bull to take the lead and take home Singapore Grand Prix while regaining his second rank in the drivers’ standing. McLaren’s Jenson Button finished in second with Fernando Alonso on third.

“We benefited a little bit from Lewis’ failure,” according to Vettel in an AP report. “We had a very, very strong pace all weekend and a good start, which got us in the hunt. I am just incredibly happy and proud.”

“It looks better than before,” Vettel added. “It’s a tough championship but we are still in it, and looking forward to the next few races, and the goal is to beat Fernando [Alonso].”

Alonso is still on top of the drivers’ championship with 194 points, with Vettel’s win he is now on second spot after increasing his tally to 165 points.

It was a disappointing race for Hamilton who should have gone on top of the Singapore Grand Prix, but you can expect together with Button for the McLaren duo to bounce back on upcoming major races. Currently, Hamilton is ranked number 4 on drivers’ standing with 142 points along with Button on 6th place with 119 points. Watch out also for Raikkonen and Webber for the upcoming F1 races which have notable 3rd and 5th places, respectively.

Here’s the current Drivers’ F1 Ranking:

Driver Pts
1. F. Alonso 194
2. S. Vettel 165
3. K. Raikkonen 149
4. L. Hamilton 142
5. M. Webber 132
6. J. Button 119
7. N. Rosberg 93
8. R. Grosjean 82
9. S. Perez 66
10. F. Massa 51
11. P. di Resta 44
12. M. Schumacher 43
13. K. Kobayashi 35
14. N. Hulkenberg 31
15. P. Maldonado 29
16. B. Senna 25
17. J. Vergne 8
18. D. Ricciardo 6
19. T. Glock 0
20. H. Kovalainen 0
21. V. Petrov 0
22. C. Pic 0
23. N. Karthikeyan 0
24. P. de la Rosa 0

This post is sponsored by Johnnie Walker.

Related Posts

Comments are closed.